Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Libertarian Party is Now Ballot-Qualified in 32 Jurisdictions

Ballot Access News

The Libertarian Party is now ballot-qualified for 2022, for statewide office, in 32 jurisdictions: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

In Connecticut it is only on the 2022 ballot for Treasurer.

Also, it meets Pennsylvania’s definition of “political party”, which means it will be back on the voter registration form as a choice, and it is on the ballot automatically for special elections. But no party can be ballot-qualified for Pennsylvania regular elections unless it has registration membership of at least 15% of the state total.

If the party wins its Maine and New York lawsuits, it could be back on the ballot in those two states.

At the end of 2016, the Libertarian Party was ballot-qualified in 38 jurisdictions.

No comments: