Thursday, October 8, 2020

Alternate Presidential Debate Thursday, October 8

Ballot Access News

The presidential debate sponsored by Free and Equal and Open the Debates will be held Thursday, October 8, at 6 p.m. Denver time. The debate is in Denver and the five participants will be in the room with each other. Anyone may watch via computer by going to

The five candidates are Howie Hawkins, Gloria De La Riva, Don Blankenship, Brock Pierce, and Brian Carroll. Eligibility required being on the ballot in at least eight states. Those who were eligible but who chose not to participate are Jo Jorgensen, Rocky De La Fuente, and Kanye West. President Trump and Joe Biden are forbidden by their contracts with the Commission on Presidential Debates to participate in any other general election debates.

The fate of the Trump-Biden remaining two debates is in doubt. The Commission on Presidential Debates wants them to be virtual, but President Trump said on October 8 that he will only continue to debate if the debaters are in the same room with each other.

Meanwhile, Level the Playing Field is readying its cert petition to the U.S. Supreme Court, in Level the Playing Field v FEC, which charges that the Commission is violating federal campaign finance law and that the FEC is derelict for not enforcing those laws.

No comments: