Sunday, July 12, 2020

Green Party Nominates Howie Hawkins for President on First Ballot

Ballot Access News

On July 11, the Green Party held a virtual national convention. Howie Hawkins won the presidential nomination on the first ballot. The results for the five candidates who were allowed to speak are: Hawkins 210; Dario Hunter 102; Sedinam K. C. M. Curry 11.5; Dennis Lambert 8.5; David Rolde 4.5. There were 8 votes to either have no nominee, or to abstain. There were also a sprinkling of votes for persons who had not been formally nominated: Jesse Ventura 7; Kent Mesplay 2; Lochoki 1; Bernie Sanders one-half vote. UPDATE: here is a news story.
Seven states sent no delegates. By comparison, for the 2016 presidential convention, eleven states had no delegates. For the 2012 presidential convention, seventeen states sent no delegates. In 2008, thirteen states sent no delegates. In 2004, seven states sent no delegates. So the 2020 convention had the most states represented since 2004.
The seven states that sent no delegates in 2020 are Alaska, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, and Vermont.

No comments: