Sunday, February 17, 2019

American Free Soil Party Nominates Its 2020 Presidential Election Candidates

Liberty Bell Council_burned.png

Image may contain: 1 person, beard
Adam Seaman (MA)
Yesterday, Feb. 16th, the American Free Soil Party nominated their 2020 presidential election candidates over a teleconference call.  Adam Seaman (Massachusetts), who ran for the Prohibition Party nomination but lost in a dubious vote to their 2020 nominee Bill Bayes, was unanimously elected to be the AFSP's 2020 nominee.  His running mate is Rev. Dr. Enrique Ramos (Puerto Rico), a Lutheran minister from San Juan who was also unanimously nominated and is believed to be the first vice presidential candidate from Puerto Rico who is also living there currently.

Image may contain: Enrique Ramos, smiling, suit
Rev. Dr. Enrique Ramos (PR)
The first Free Soil Party was an anti-slavery party which existed between 1848 and 1854.  Though they we're short lived they were a power to be reckoned with and their ideals and platform was largely adopted by the two major parties of its time.  Former President Martin Van Buren was their first presidential candidate.  The modern version was founded in 2014 by Dr. James Clifton its National Director who is also running for office this year for Town council in Millersburg, Indiana.

No comments: